Sunday, January 29, 2023
Google search engine
HomeEntertainmentPresidential polls 2022: NDA candidate Draupadi Murmu files nomination

Presidential polls 2022: NDA candidate Draupadi Murmu files nomination

BJP-led NDA’s presidential election candidate Draupadi Murmu filed her nomination at the Parliament Library Building in the national capital. PM Modi proposed Murmu’s name for the presidential nomination, which was seconded by Defence Minister Rajnath Singh.

The second set of proposers were the chief ministers of BJP-ruled states, the third proposers were MLAs and MPs from Himachal and Haryana and the fourth set were MLAs and MPs from Gujarat.

PM Modi, Union Home Minister Amit Shah, BJP National President JP Nadda, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh Union Minister Piyush Goyal, Union Minister Nitin Gadkari, Union Minister for Tribal Affairs Arjun Munda, Union ministers and BJP leaders Gen VK Singh (Retd), Bhupender Yadav and Giriraj Singh were present at the Parliament during her Draupadi Murmu’s nomination filing.

The CMs of all BJP-ruled states including UP CM Yogi Adityanath, Madhya Pradesh CM Shivraj Singh Chouhan and Assam CM Himanta Biswa Sarma among others were present during her nomination filing.

Besides, the NDA partners, Yuvajana Sramika Rythu Congress Party (YSRCP) leader V Vijayasai Reddy and Biju Janata Dal (BJD) Tukuni Sahu, BJJD MP Dr Sasmit Patra and Jagannath Saraka also present.

Ahead of that, Murmu also paid tributes to the statues of Mahatma Gandhi, Dr BR Ambedkar and Birsa Munda at the Parliament premise.

Who is NDA Presidential Candidate Draupadi Murmu?

Draupadi Murmu was born in a poor tribal family in the village of Mayurbhanj, a backward district in Odisha. She completed her studies despite challenging circumstances at Shri Aurobindo Integral Education Centre, Rairangpur.

Draupadi Murmu was born on June 20, 1958, she pursued BA at Ramadevi Women`s College Bhubaneswar. She started her political career as Rairangpur NAC vice-chairman. Draupadi Murmu was a member of the Odisha Legislative Assembly from Rairangpur between 2000 and 2004. As a minister in Odisha, Murmu held portfolios of Transport and Commerce, Animal Husbandry and Fisheries.

Draupadi Murmu again served as MLA in the Odisha assembly from 2004 to 2009. In 2007, the Odisha assembly honoured her with the `Nilakantha Award` for best MLA. She also served as a junior assistant in Irrigation and Power Department between 1979 and 1983. She has held several organisational posts in Bharatiya Janta Party and was vice president of BJP Odhisha ST Morcha in 1997. Later, Murmu was a national executive member of BJP`s ST Morcha from 2013 to 2015 and also served as BJP district chief of Mayurbhanj (West) district.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -
Google search engine

Most Popular

Recent Comments